'Om die Dam' Marathon

This annual event is really growing in popularity! This year is it's 21st anniversary and it is the largest inland ultramarathon in South-Africa, attracting over 7000 participants annually! Read more about it here!

I could really not decide on one single picture out of the 963 snapshots I took before my battery packed up!! ;-( So, here is a collage!

From top left:

A 75year old man, still going strong, 3kms from finishing, which is the distance still to run from our house to the end.

Next pic, a wheelchair athlete.

Thereafter, a mommy with her baby on wheels.

Bottom left:

An 85year old lady, with a friend, also still going strong, she participated last year as well, I don't know for how long she's been running, since we only moved back here about two years ago, and I only recorded this event since last year

Next: The Headgirl of our school, MCS, with her lovely, warm smile, one would never think she's almost at the end of a gruelling marathon!

Next: A very familiar participant, 70 year old man with one short leg, note the thick sole on his left running shoe, and on crutches, all the way, like he's done for many years!

Last, but not least: A 70year old couple, also still going strong!

I salute all these athletes!!

I only sat on a camping chair, camera in hand, for about 4 hours, and let me tell you, I was knackered! Hehehehe!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.