Dervish display

Having treated us to a white Christmas, I was a bit worried about making my way from Dún Laoghaire right across the city and over to my friends in Ashbourne, Co. Meath.

There was no way of telling from the streets immediately outside how things might be on the main roads, so all I could do was suck it and see. As expected, things were worst leaving Carl's place and arriving at Derek and Rita's. Apart from that, the main routes were quite clear, though reduced to a single lane in some places. I arrived safely at any rate, and we went on to have the usual great day.

My god-child Caroline arrived with her family, and Sophie entertained us all with her unique combination of ballet, dervish and Irish dancing. It was a perfect day, spent among great friends - the essential spirit of Christmas, and a tradition which I thoroughly enjoy every year.

I made my way home cagily and went straight to bed, pretty exhausted after a hectic few days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.