Appreciate

By Appreciate

Majestic

This tree is at the end of my drive and gives me such pleasure all through the seasons. You will see it regularly!

One evening my friend Anne and I were sitting by my campfire talking about nothing in particular. A tawny owl was making a huge racket in this tree, so much so that Anne went on a mission to find it. She asked me for a torch.

When I appeared with my "Power of a Million Candles" torch, she went into raptures of laughter and couldn't speak. As she danced around the fire, one minute doubled over and the next with her back arched and her head thrown back, tears running down her face, I just stood in bewilderment.

I had not seen (or heard of) Rhod Gilbert or his rendition of the "Power of a Million Candles" - which she then began to tell in a ridiculous Welsh accent. By the time she had finished we were now making much more noise than the owl!

Relatively calmed, we went in search of the tawny owl, who we found perched right at the top of this tree - staring at us in silence.

I hear the owl most nights, usually between 2-3am. No matter how hard I try and no matter how often I hear him,I waken myself up laughing!



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.