Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

Fire

This is a really odd thing from the 70's which I don't think they make anymore. It always makes me feel nostalgic!.

It is a coal effect electric bar fire which lives in my mum's front room, along with an artificial fireplace as the house she lives in does not have a chimney.

It's actually a 1980's thing. Builders didn't consider the open fire as a focus for peoples homes, rather an open large size telly. So they didn't build houses without chimneys.

I love this piece of complete artifice. There is a flat wall with a fake fireplace screwed onto it, and sitting on the marble effect hearth is this wonderfully (40 watt bulb) illuminated coal effect alter piece, with it's three glowing red bars.

I feel a martin Parr moment coming on!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.