karenjulia

By karenjulia

Books wrapped in steel?

This is the view from my current location - of the James Hight building on campus - our main uni library occupies many of its floors. One of the quakes caused all the window rivets to pop so it was decided that if they needed replacing then we might as well replace all the windows with double glazed ones. This work has now been interrupted by the events of this week.

The University of Canterbury is in good heart. I am sorry for the students and the academic staff as exams are due to start and now everything is in the process of being revised.

View this LARGE to see its full brutalist design - this building won an architectural award for enduring architecture. I always used to say that means it will never ever fall down even after 1,000,000 years "without people". I guess I am now glad of that stability!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.