Skyroad

By Skyroad

The White Ship

Cold, restless weather. I opened the door after a sudden hailstorm and was greeted with THIS.

I had to drop a letter to my mother's doctor in Sandycove later in the afternoon, so I took a flask, intending to park by the sea afterwards and do some writing. And I did manage to get some time parked by the seawall. But little writing was done. The sky and sea were too distracting. I kept hopping out of the car to catch some shift in the sea- or cloudlight, the rainmountains trailing their blurring curtains over the city towards Howth.

For those who might be interested, the following links clearly show the amazing variety on offer.

I shot a few of JOYCE'S TOWER. Then the FORTY FOOTbathing place nearby, then of THE HOUSE above it, which must be one of the most sea-battered in Ireland.

I was thinking of making this study of VIOLET & JADE (with a container ship and one bright tiny gull) the main blip.

After about an hour the rain closed in, though not for long. I jumped out again to shoot these FOUR BOATS (or three trawlers with a ghost ship) then got back in the car before my camera got spattered. There is something militaristic about them. Reminds me of a weird apocalyptic dream I had about 25 years ago, which I have never forgotten. About Britain re-invading Ireland, a fleet of battleships (and a huge aircraft carrier with Trevor Howard on the bridge) sailing past Howth into Dún Laoghaire pier, soldiers swarming down the gangplank, parting the waiting crowd. Never had another dream like it that I could remember.





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.