TeeJay

By TeeJay

Colour

Today has been great.

I got up and cooked breakfast for my son Blaze and his partner KT (burnt the bacon but they forgave me),then they headed off home to Christchurch. I blobbed for a while and then headed out to the Red Barn to meet up with family who were passing through.

First to arrive were 2 car loads with my parents, and my Australian 'foster' siblings. We stood around chatting and drinking while I whinged about the fact that Tony the Peacock had never given me a chance to photograph him with this tail spread.

My neice then arived with her partner, son and a family friend. While I was greeting them Dad called me to say that Tony was finally doing his thing. I abandoned Sai and her carload to go and take photos. Tony was great, he let me walk all around him taking his picture.

My nephew, his partner and their baby showed up about then as well. Many coffees were drunk, many family photos taken, much reminiscing with the Aussies, some of whom I hadn't seen in about 35 years.

When I got home and downloaded my photos I was fascinated by how every step I had taken showed Tony's feathers in a different light and changed his colours quite dramatically. I had over 100 photos of him but I've chosen this one because of the 'pinks' it shows. I think of peacocks as being green and blue so I liked the difference here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.