One Day Like This

By sennema

A cat's life

For today I had three options. # 1: it was a beautiful foggy morning, and I'd made some nice, but slightly boring garden pictures. # 2: we visited the World Port Days, where there were some slightly Blippable ones, but none as nice as Wolf Journal's and couldn't agree more on his story. (Plus I was really annoyed by all the military poo-ha. In the evening they even role played a pirate robbery, including machine guns which actually scared me... The event was cool for little boys and girls though who could ride in a caterpillar vehicle or visit all kinds of enormous ships).

So I went for No 3: the cat. It's our neighbor's cat and it was visiting our garden more and more often over the last few days. Lying on our garden bench, I've tried to take a picture of it for a few times now, but it would run away when it saw me. Today our neighbor told us however this cat wasn't eating and drinking anymore and probably wouldn't live much longer. She said we could send it away if it bothered us, but we reckoned if the poor thing liked our bench to spend its last few days (or hours, who knows) on it would be more than ok.

This afternoon it jumped off the bench as soon as it saw me, but just moved along to lie down again among the plants. It just kept staring towards me so I had the opportunity to make some of these pictures. I'm not one for anthropomorphizing animals, but it felt strange to document the last stages in this cat's life.

While I'm writing this it's Sunday and the cat is nowhere to be seen. Maybe it's died already, maybe it has found another place to rest its head. Either way, this Blip will probably mean our goodbye.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.