Homespun Charms

By MaryMouse

Village Vice!

A beautiful day, the sun is shining in a blue sky and it's very warm.
A daughter is visiting so we all went on one of our favourite walks this afternoon and took advantage of the glorious weather. The walk begins in a pretty working village called Kepwick and we start by walking down the road passing this vice which stands outside a barn. It must have been standing out in all weathers for many years and I always enjoy seeing it. It reminds me of childhood when I used to watch my father doing woodwork and using a similar vice to this one.
The route is circular and takes us through fields of cows, sunken lanes and the 'tricky' bit where we have to ford a stream. All hazards were manfully overcome and we got back very hot and thirsty.
A night in for a change and so I'm cooking roast beef and Yorkshire puddings. The Sunday roast has had to be put on hold more recently so this will be a treat!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.