Andy's Photo Journal

By andmoff

Grangemouth

This is where I grew up, where I went to school, where my parents and one of my brothers still lives and where I work. It's also featured quite a bit on my blips.

I'd never have guessed nearly three years ago that I'd still be doing this. I'd also never have guessed what an effect it's actually had on me. Putting aside the record of mine and my family's life over nearly three years there has also been other effects this place has had on me.

I have made really good real life friends on here. There are also many friends that I haven't met yet but that is merely a formality I think some of them are real friends.

The next effect has been on how I have changed how I view photography. When I started doing this I was taking the same sort of shots I had done for years; snaps.... nothing wrong with that but despite all the years of buying cameras, getting kit, pottering in darkrooms and computers I had not really changed much as a photographer. As I started trying out new stuff on here I began to wonder if anybody was actually interested in my type of photography. It was around this time I "discovered" Fay Godwin It was amazing to me to "find" someone of such high regard who had done stuff that I was dabbling with. This led to me exploring loads more photographers such as the New Topographers, doing courses, going to lectures which has all really led me to where I want to go in photography. I was beginning to learn about photographs, not just the mechanics of pressing the button. Through blip I've found people that feel the same way and hopefully the next stage is some collaboration, though solo projects continue. During all this I continued to work on a couple of projects, one is now "parked" as I'm unsure where to take it, the other I have continued to shoot for the past 18 months. I've finally got to a point where I feel confident enough to show it so here it is.

flat land

I hope you enjoy it and comments and criticism welcome, exhibition invites will be considered ;)

I'd really like to thank everybody that has viewed and commented on my stuff and especially people like Brian, Steven, Craig, Simon, Andy and Megan.

Upwards and onwards, and thanks again to everybody connected with blip......... oh, and stay on the f***ing bus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.