Red Squirrel

By JJRW

Quality Not Quantity

After the delights of Foxley Wood on Monday, it was back to my usual lunchtime stomping ground, and another chance to check out the massive area in front of County Hall. I found 2 or 3 large spreads of this beauty on one of the large felled tree trunks. This particular bracket was one of the larger ones, and was no more than about 1" across, yet it's colouring and markings for me matched any of the much bigger 'shrooms I'd found on Monday - which really goes to show that bigger isn't necessarily better and sometimes the best things come in small packages!
(I just wish I had a better macro on my camera! Dear Father Christmas ....)

Oooh, a music link I believe! STOMPING GROUND brought it to mind (and I need no excuse to play this guy!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.