Life on a Rock and More

By ChrisTaylor

Nature reclaims all man made stuff eventually II

Part of my nature reclaims series Number 1 HERE This one is an old farm house (maybe quarry house)

Horrendous winds (90mph) and rain. Decided not to head up the hills today. Instead walked down along the road to Llanberis (1.5 hour walk). Stumbled into the National Welsh Slate Museum (Fantastic place to spend your birthday, and it was free!) The explored Pete's Eats. A classic North Wales climber cafe where they serve tea by the pint mug and full English breakfasts to fill the bellies of hardy mountain folk - and people just walking around LLanberis.

Still raining - hoping for less tomorrow.

With no one else at the hostel except a less than chatty YH warden (I know the feeling sometimes), it feels a bit like a scene from the film "The Shining". Everything was in place an old hostel up on a hill, snowy hills, whistling wind. I was wondering when the twins would appear in the doorway behind me.

Bit of an odd night in the hostel, a little earlier in the evening an odd chap came in who used to work at the hostel and was returning some t-shirts. He seemed troubled - turns out he has just had a nervous breakdown. The sort of person I would never want to go climbing with. He was troubled about getting his career back on track and annoyed that people had been bad mouthing him in Sheffield. I agreed with him at the time that it was terrible but deep inside my instinct was saying that there was something wrong with this chap and he is not telling me the
Whole story. I just hope his mental health is not related to staying at the hostel for too long!

Must sleep now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.