Skyroad

By Skyroad

My Mother

My mother was born in 1918. Neither she nor her sister (Slant's mum, a couple of years younger) usually enjoy being photographed, though both can coaxed into it.

I was calling for the cat Toby (who has wandered off again) from the top of the steps outside the back door. When I turned and saw mum looking out the window I suddenly knew I wanted to take her photograph and asked her to wait there. She very kindly humoured me (I suspect that if I live that long I will probably tell any young, camera-weilding fiftysomethings to go and fu*k themselves).

I shot about six or seven frames. In most of them she is looking at me and smiling. I thought this was stronger though, as it shows better her good-natured reluctance to be 'captured', and, in a sense, respects it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.