Skyroad

By Skyroad

Lighthouse & Lit House

So. June was a wash-out, and July hasn't been looking good either. But by early afternoon the rain's heavy-duty bead curtain finally lifted and the weather actually cleared. I was getting concerned, as the grass seed I sowed three days ago might be in danger of getting over-watered (probably not, as it's pretty hardy I'm told).

Lovely evening. I drove over to Killiney Castle hotel to meet MY COUSINS Slant & P, and P's two boys R & F (blip names Safeasmilk and Gjoa). We set up a group portrait for a change. I think it came out okay, better than these things are wont to. On the way home I stopped in Sandycove and spent some time with a tripod trying to capture something of the soft night, the sickle moon above the streetlights, the lights of the house that backs onto the Fortyfoot bathing place. Then I noticed a heron and became determined to photograph him. I think I caught something of his stalky movement, quite by accident, in the first of the pics below (I've also posted a detail which seems amazingly painterly, impressionistic). I was going to make it the title blip. As usual, I am not sure which of the following is the best. Any ideas?
NIGHT HERON
NIGHT HERON (DETAIL)
LIT HOUSES 2
MOON TAXI










NB
Just as I started to write this the rain has come back! Hopefully not for long though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.