Simply Me

By Suze981

Roses

After a nice long lie this morning, I'm now up and ready for the wee drive back to Scotland. There's always something nice about coming home! I remember when I was travelling, I loved visiting new and wonderful places, but if I'm honest, that feeling when you get home was always the best.

Packing up my stuff I've stumbled across a couple of roses from the table decorations.

I love roses. I love everything about them. They're beautiful, but they have that strong, harsh thorny side, they're elegant and exquisite.

There are thousands of depictions of them across the arts, there is a vast amount of symbolism attached to them, and they are used for a wide variety of purposes.

I love the smell of rose - I wear rose perfume (my favourite being Jo Malone - Red Roses, but I also wear Paul Smith - Rose, and Imogen Rose by Lush).

I love the taste of rose, my favourite chocolate being rose chocolate from Coco Chocolate in Edinburgh (and who can forget Turkish delight?). Fentiman's Rose Lemonade is also quite simply the tastiest drink.

I use rose water toner, which is particularly good for sensitive skin and I have roses in my wallpaper at home. Yes it's fair to say that I'm a little obsessed.

Looking at these wedding flowers makes me think of the bouquet I would have if I ever get married. I think a single rose would do it for me.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.