CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Local art in the town council's office

After our meeting with the two fundraisers who have been appointed to help the town council find alternative grant funds for Lansdown Hall, one of them asked me about my Canon camera. She had recently bought a Canon 600D and was interested in my prime lens.

I explained why I have been mostly using prime lenses lately and recommended the 50mm f.1.8, which is cheap, excellent value and produces great results. Sarah Horrigan tipped me off about that lens two years ago, when I was buying my camera, and I think she still often uses one herself.

I took four pictures under the fluorescent office lights, including this picture, which hangs near the public space at the front of the offices. I have no idea of who it was by, or when it was produced, as it preceded my time as a councillor. It is one of several pictures of the town hanging in the chamber, and I think they were bought from artists as the local art college.

I have only just realised I had missed a blip day so I thought I backblip it. The artist's viewpoint was from a position only a few yards from our offices looking north towards the Stroud Subscription Rooms, which often feature in town life, a particularly as a congregation point when there are demonstrations! The Beatles also sang there very early in their touring life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.