I Spy

I hate putting gas in the car. Not only must I spend money but it actually stresses me out to go to the gas station (and I never remember which side of the car the gas tank is on). I usually wait till the absolute last minute to get gas. The light has to turn on before I'll go.

And while we're at it I might as well mention that dealing with people never seems to be my strong point. I have terrible encounters with bank tellers almost every time I deposit a check (another story, another time). I should have thought about this before I went to the full serve gas station but it was closest so I didn't care. I handed the man my twenty, turned off the car and waited. He came back when it was full and I thanked him and turned the car on. At this point, he inquires if I'm going to leave without paying. I can't tell if he's joking so I laugh and inform him that I most definitely paid him already, most definitely. He frowns and says that I didn't. It's clear he is not joking, I tell him that I gave him a twenty. He shakes his head, frowns some more and says "Little girl, you're not going to rip me off". At this point I'm probably visibly frustrated (also he called me little girl, reallyyyyy now?). I'm speechless and not about to give this man another 20 for the gas I already paid for when suddenly something must have clicked in his head and he goes; "Oh, I think you did, but it was a credit card, not cash". No, it really was a twenty. He laughs and then informs me that my keys are about to fall out of my bag (on the passenger seat) and that would be a silly way to lose them. Silly indeed.

At this point I'm just wondering, why me. It's always me. These things don't happen to other people. Everything is always a fromble and I am never putting gas in my car again.

Quote
"It's more interesting to have just a picture of a small detail - then you can dream all the rest around it. Because when you see the whole thing, what is there to imagine?"
-Dries van Noten

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.