La bottiglia

The warm weather persists, which meant a rare and early opportunity to eat al fresco in Kirkby Lonsdale, on this occasion at The Italian Garden. Just as we were leaving the house - me, Dan, Abi, Milly and her boyfriend, Evan - we agreed we'd all leave our 'phones behind. 

This worked out very well and happy, relaxed conversation flowed around the table, interrupted occasionally by the effusive and very Italian waiter, who had us all charmed (if, initially, slightly alarmed). The food and wine were excellent, too, and it stayed warm long enough for us linger a little while after we'd eaten.

However, I didn't take my camera with me and, of course, I didn't have my 'phone with me, so I couldn't take a photo. Instead I grabbed this bottle which I found for three quid in a bric-a-brac shop in Kendal, yesterday, and took a photo of that. It's rather lovely: old heavy glass that has become misshapen. Which, actually, reminds me of part of our conversation over dinner about glass bottles. Did you know that there's a theory that champagne was invented in England because only the English had the technology to make strong enough bottles? I have no idea whether it's true, mind.

Update with some information from my friend Manse:
""Champagne" was not invented in England, however, it seems that while various Frenchies such as the legendary Dom Perignon were trying to rid their champagne of toublesome bubbles - seen as a fault in production, the English, after importing the stuff in wooden barrels were not so upset by a bit of fizz. English glass making at the time routinely involved higher temperature production methods, meaning stronger glass, less likely to shatter under pressure - so the fizz could be safely bottled. Apparently the English also seem to have remembered the use of the cork closure - lost to the rest of Europe since the fall of Rome. Booze and History, my 3 favourite things!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.