It's a Beautiful Life

By ArtyFi

Clematis

As the rain continued to pelt down on Sunday, memories of Turkey were already feeling rather distant! However, in my 2 weeks away the garden has sprung into life and everything has grown that bit closer to the house. The 18 month old branches on the row of pollarded lime trees have met each other and now form a lovely green hedge making the garden very private.

Underneath one of the lime trees, my little rescued clematis grows up the fence. When we moved into the house the flower beds were hidden under huge sheets of black matting, which I quickly tore up so that I could plant up the flower beds with a myriad of different plants. A year later this little clematis started growing, but has never done terribly well, not least because I kept breaking the stem at the base when I was weeding! However, this year I carefully trained the plant across to the fence and for the first time in 10 years it has flowered!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.