my eyes they cannot lie

By girlsonfilm

The name is Ronson. Jon Ronson.

Today was a brilliant day.

We had an informal opening of one of my libraries...I did argue for ribbon cutting but it all got a bit Political. The Reading Agency (by an amazing coincidence) arranged for one of my favourite authors to open it..then do a book reading, Q&A and signing at Oldham Library.

Jon Ronson

I love Jon Ronson On, his Radio 4 show, his books, docs and writing. Funny, clever, geeky, talented...and THAT voice. If you know me...you know that The Psychopath Test is one of my favourite books.

I am a voice woman. I have mp3s that I listen to over and over of interesting people with nice voices. It started with Brian Cox, Philip Pullman...then Peter Mandelson ( I KNOW) and for a long while it's been JR. So hearing him talk today..in general... and especially to me has been strange and wonderful in equal measure.

Jon loves libraries; and he did a lot today to get people to see their library with different eyes. People who would not usually view the library as the beating heart of their community. They saw today that the library is a place to access creativity and the arts. It was a full house.

Meeting your heroes? Today it worked out well. Jon exceeded all expectations.

But the most important thing.....the most heartwarming thing?

Jon is clearly the sort of person that irrelevant of what he writes or how famous he is...you would simply WANT to know him anyway.

So pleased to have done that today.

xKx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.