Today's Special

By Connections

Downtown Bimble

One of the great things about Blipfoto is how it expands your vocabulary! The second word in my title is from Earthdreamery's journal today -- "A bimble is a walk undertaken without any particular destination in mind. It's not about getting somewhere. It's actually about not getting anywhere -- except a state of mindfulness to one's surroundings."

He learned bimbling from Traveller's Joy, so I have both of them to thank for this useful word and new approach! Unlike them, my bimble today didn't include climbing a mountain, but I did climb a few stairs outside the City Hall building and later played with the shadows I'd snapped.

Today's beautiful weather brought folks out for drinks and meals in the sunshine, including at the 1912 Breier Building, which houses Bayou on Bay, an excellent Cajun/Creole restaurant, and its "cousin," the Bayou Oyster Bar. The giant sceptre/public art outside was installed in 2009 -- it's "Sentinel" by T. Ellen Sollod.

I did four errands afterward in Fairhaven, but the break from my time/list-driven ways was very refreshing, and I'll be indulging in bimbling again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.