Probably a shot of a Jnr

By Hollowspy

Shining Lights

I share my time with many shining lights, I am lucky and honoured to do so.

Tonight was the Year 6 Leaver's Dinner - a yearly tradition where the Y6's invite their teachers and parents into school for a three-course meal that they have chosen and cooked themselves. We get to celebrate their time at school and say goodbye in a semi-formal setting, it is such a wonderful night for many reasons.

The theme this year was The Best of British to fit in with the Jubilee. I had a pork pie with quail's egg, the biggest Beef Wellington you have ever seen, followed by apple crumble. It was just delicious.

The children then put on some entertainment for us, which culminated in one of the songs for the production we are currently working on, of which they had altered the lyrics to be about me, their teacher. To say I was touched deeply is an understatement. When a few of the girls started to cry I nearly lost it myself.

They then presented us with a really cool 'Keep Calm and Carry On' canvas onto which they had written messages. One of them will stay with me forever. It read: "Thanks for being such a fantastic teacher + friend, I'll really miss you!!!" There's one word in that message that means more than anything. One of the shining lights that will never fade.

Their schooldays are the best of my life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.