Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

My 'Pointless' friend Rae

Rae works for Endemol, the company who make the early evening quiz show for the BBC. She invited me on set today for a special episode which will be broadcast in November. I can say nothing more as my shoot is embargoed until then. 

Needless to say it was great fun to be back at Elstree and the set dissolved a few preconceptions about how the programme is shot.

Firstly it's quite a big set and the graphics are all created using LED's. This means the light levels are low giving the set a very intimate feel. Although Xander and Richard are on mic, the (small) audience do not hear their voices amplified. Therefore it has the atmosphere of a rather more entertaining pub quiz with superior banter. Not at all intimidating.

As with all TV shoots, you are sandwiched between a load of camera's, crew and a rather alarming moving jib, but I have looked at the pictures and I am very pleased.

The only slight downside to the day was narrowly missing driving into the barrier in the car park because I forgot to put my car into 'park'. It made Rae laugh anyway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.