Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

Cocktail night number two

We drank cocktails last night in the West London Bar Dirty Bones because we were assured JZ was not there. Always a good starting point to an evening I feel.

We were however introduced to the hipster mixologist. Both beverages I drank were based on bourbon, the first had an orange and cinnamon angle, the second had a raspberry floating in it together with nibs of chocolate. Both sounded improbably but tasted delicious.

Dinner at The Ivy Brasserie in Kensington was old school (scallops and cottage pie). Luckily JZ did not turn up there either.

Tonight's early dinner was at Berber and Q, under the arches in Haggerston. Delicious Moroccan food I have been waiting to try for ages. Ian treated me. The cocktail here was called 'Kraal and Sumac' (I won't tell you the name of the cocktails in Dirty Bones for fear of offending you)
ingredients list: Mezcal, tequila, charred pineapple, chilli, cucumber, sumac, coriander, lime and agave syrup. Very Mexican I felt, reminding me of at least two photography trips over the last few years.

Bar three, ha ha, yes, the one in the picture, is a long thin, very elegant establishment we think run by Russians off the Kingsland Road. Here I returned to the classic Pisco Sour.

Tomorrow I will give my liver a rest I think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.