Culvert

This is part of the canal that used to run from Lancaster to Kendal, which was officially closed in 1955. You can actually go some way north from Lancaster before the canal is no longer navigable. The fact it was no longer open meant that when the M6 was built, it was built straight over the canal (which, I guess, would make it very difficult to re-open!).

Until recently, I thought the canal was blocked - or, more accurately, culverted - in just two places but it appears there are actually six. I discovered this when I realised the one of the routes that I take to collect Dan and Abi from their mum's uses a road that is built across the canal. I've been meaning to take a photo for the last few days and this evening I was running slightly early, so here it is!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.