nwmcr 2012 journal

By nwmcr

Clock I

Thought I'd set myself a mini challenge this week...clocks. I know it's a bit random and I'm probably going to regret this but here's my first one....

Manchester Town Hall Clock Tower

The 280-foot (85 metre) tall bell tower, houses a carillon of 23 bells: 12 are hung for full circle change ringing and were manufactured by John Taylor Bellfounders. The clock bell, Great Abel, named after Abel Heywood weighs 8 tons 2.5 cwt. The clock was made by Gillett and Bland (predecessor of Gillett and Johnston) and was originally wound using hydraulic power supplied by Manchester Hydraulic Power. The clock bell first rang on New Year's Day 1879 but cracked, and was replaced in 1882 and recast with all the bells in 1937. The clock face bears the inscription Teach us to number our Days, from Psalm 90:12. The clock bell is inscribed with the initials AH and the Tennyson line Ring out the false, ring in the true.

Source: Wikipedia

Canon 350d

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.