Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Tangled Nude

Now and again I see a photograph that I like so much that it inspires me to try and replicate it. One I saw was in this weeks Amateur Photographer magazine, that was being analysed by Roger Hicks in his excellent weekly article, 'Final Analysis'. It was a Tangled Nude by Didier Gillis called 'Derive' (2013).

The pose is quite anonymous in that you can't see the face and nothing is  revealing. What you make of it is in your thought. The photo is grungy in nature; a curious tonality with Hicks saying it was 'classical', paying lip service to the time of Ancient Rome. He finished by saying he believes there is both good and bad art, but he had trouble with the concept of 'not art'.

My picture pays tribute to Gillis's photograph called 'Derive'. It is very similar. What do you make of it?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.