Scarlet Haberdashery

By Haberdashery

Constant Change

Tomorrow I will turn 26. This time last year so many things were different. I wasn't at my most happy. My grandad hadn't long died and I wasn't very keen on celebrating: the thought of opening that card and his name not being in it was a little more than I could bear. I wanted more than anything to be accepted on to a midwifery course, to get the next stage of things started. I felt a little in limbo.

And here I am, a year later, starting my course in six weeks. Actively wanting to celebrate my brithday. Whilst I am over the moon about my impending move, this last year has also brought some changes that have been very difficult, and in some ways I feel more than a little bereft. Isn't it amusing that I still anticipate feeling wiser and more able to face all of the things going on for me when 9.21am ticks around tomorrow? A girl can hope (and wear her beaded bracelet given to her by a Taiwanese Bhuddist nun to balance her emotions just in case)...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.