Sphaera

So Monday morning and it's time to explore Salzburg. We started off with my map and to find a vista point recommended by Salzburg tourist board. 284 stairs, a new set of lungs and legs later I found myself overlooking Salzburg. There were a few trees there that got in the way but overall a good view.

The temperature had now hit 37 degrees. I made may way down to the old town and wandered about, I came across this sculpture in Kapitelplatz, it's called Sphaera and is about nine meters in height, including the pedestal. It represents a male figure standing in a relaxed pose on a golden sphere. Black trousers, white shirt, neutral attitude and expression - this man might be a nodding acquaintance, or he might be everyman.

View Large

At 13:00 I started the drive back to Budapest and got in and 18:30, just in time for a shower and walk to the Danube to catch the fireworks for Budapest foundation day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.