Nunney Castle

I grew up 8 miles from Nunney Castle and now live only about 3 miles away, yet I have never been there, well as far as I know I haven't!

Decided to take the new camera on a trip and give it a go, lots of buttons and settings to play with an no idea that they all do, but I'm sure i will get there in time.

Felt a little hungover this morning post margaritas last night, so some sunshine and fresh air was just what I needed!

Now for the history lesson ... The striking and picturesque moated castle of Nunney was built in the 1370s by Sir John de la Mere, a local knight who was beginning to enjoy royal favour. Extensively modernised in the late 16th century, the castle was held for the King during the Civil War, but quickly fell to Parliamentarian cannon in 1645

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.