This Too Will Vanish...

By etherghost

a detail from an 8x3ft paper painting I have just started.
"the trial years" -scroll number one. You are welcome to watch the progress of the piece over here.

What is it that makes me delight in a single dark mark, a smudge of charcoal across the white paper?
What is it that makes my heart quicken and want to run and tell someone "look, look, I began!"?
What is it in me that requires a witness to continue?
Ego, pride, simply wanting to share?
Fear and the need to be told to continue on, I imagine.
With no one here I simply continue and wait for the next stroke, the next "look, look, I began!"

That is all painting is, a series of beginnings.


I am excited about it.
It is Stewart's birthday today and I am also excited about that. I am so glad he is on the planet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.