Simpsons Tavern

I was in London for a meeting this morning and so being a sociable type made sure I had another appointment over lunch.

Former collegue and good mate Nick and I made plans to meet in Simpsons Tavern a proper old chop house on Cornhill, which I'd not been in for over 20 years.

There was some confusion on my part over the time so I ended up spending 20 minutes or so on my own with a pint, no bad thing. I had a good chat with this chap. He is Ian and was running the door and judging by the conversations with the clientele, he is clearly very well loved by his regulars.

Nick arrived and we ate. I'd forgotten what a fantastic place it is, pure theatre from the staff who are welcoming, interesting and really seem to want to make sure we had a good time. Highly recommended (and they did a great pint of Tribute).

Nick and I covered the usual topics, business (he has some great contacts), families and friends, houses and of course cars... That bit might have gone on a bit.

I could have stayed there all afternoon..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.