MissuSpoon

By MissuSpoon

My dad: Manuel Arcesio Medina

This photo was taken around 1935. My dad is the boy on the right side, he is with his oldest brother Heriberto.
Sadly my dad passed away three years ago, and it still is very difficult to accept he is gone.
His life was amazing. He was born and raised in Honda, Colombia, a very important town by the edge of the Magdalena River. He started to work at a very early age, he abandoned his primary studies to move to the big town Bogota, where he spent the rest of his life. It was a very challenging life for a young boy but his tenacity, determination, sense of humour, responsibility and intelligence lead him to a successful and enjoyable life for years.
At the age of 40, he married a beautiful woman (20 years younger than him) and raised four children. I can't say he was the best husband in this world but i can certainly say that he was the most amazing dad and the most wonderful granddad ever.

He loved animals, he could spend hours watching wildlife documentaries. He was also a great reader and a very vain man (he had more anti-wrinkle creams than my mum).

Today, the 26 of Sept, is a very sad day for our family, however I will try to write my positives:
1. In a day like today, I feel very proud of being the daughter of a wonderful and hard working man, who taught me that everything is possible if you work hard to achieve it.
2. In a day like today, three years ago, as a family, we received the love, friendship and condolences from lots of friends, colleagues and neighbours who also appreciate my dad very much.
3. In a day like today, I have millions of memories of the good times I spent with my dad. It is very difficult to choose my favourite memory but I think one of them is that every Sunday morning, my dad used to whistle very loudly, and the four of us used to get up from our beds and run to his room as fast as possible to lie beside him (the fastest taking the best place, his left arm) and watch some cartoons together. It was not a big bed but it was enough for all of us including my mum.

I miss you Sr. Medina

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.