Stevens Shots

By StevenC44

Work Experience - Day 4: Emergency (Sort of)

Hello Blippers! Hope your all well!

Today has probably been the best day of work experience so far. Most of it (10 - 3:30) was spent in the radar approach room again. It was good, because the people there are really nice.

Later on in the day, I went airside with ops (Aviation talk meaning I went on the airport grounds, (runway, taxiways etc) with the ground people). It was amazing! I was with a really nice guy called John Gilchrist (He told me he has a flickr account, so you can look him up if you want).

Unfortunately, me being me, I forgot to bring my SD card with me, and my crappy camera only has enough room for 1 photo without one. So, whenever I took a photo, if I wanted to take another one, I had to delete the other one. And there was so many things to take pictures of! Getting that close to the planes is amazing.

There was a sort-of emergency today. As you can see, there are firefighters surrounding this British Airways plane which was supposed to go to Heathrow. The passengers were boarding through the jetway (The thing with RBS on it, look it up if you don't know what it is) and apparently, the weight of the passengers caused the plane to go down a bit, so the door of the plane was touching the floor of the jetway, meaning both the jetway and the plane couldn't move.

I left before it got sorted, but I'm sure it turned out fine!

After work, I went next door to my friends house. We watched United 93, and there was a few tears (Not from me!) by the time it finished. Then we had a lot of conversations, both serious and funny.

Tomorrow, I believe I'll be going out with the firefighters, but I dunno.

I must go now, and sorry if I don't comment on any of your blips! Busy week!

Have a nice Friday!

Steven :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.