Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

This Charming Man

It’s always a pleasure to dine with the excellent Andy Kerr. And today was no exception.

Andy was my predecessor in my current job and remains a great supporter of what we do at work, which is very much appreciated. When not working for the NHS, he’s a keen thespian, activist and homosexual about town. He’s one of the good ‘uns, for sure.

Some have likened his latest ‘winter look’ to something sported by a character in a Dostoevsky novel, but I feel it’s rather more Dickensian in style. Either way, he’s looking very good this season!

Mention of Dickens gives me the ideal excuse to link to today’s musical selection, ‘Charles Dickens’, performed by Mathew Baynton, and fellow cast members, in the excellent children’s TV series, ‘Horrible Histories’, in the style of The Smiths. Morrissey’s increasingly offensive pronouncements have made it difficult for me to listen to The Smiths oeuvre these days, but this brilliant pastiche makes me smile every time... www.youtube.com/watch?v=WqO0idjammg

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.