Carnforth station

I had a very pleasant day, today. A swim, first thing, followed by a breakfast meeting with Dom. Food always tastes great after a swim, anyway, but the poached eggs on toast at Nellie and Marls* in Coppull are wonderful, as is their coffee. So, we ate, chatted, did some work, and then I headed north to Carnforth, where I was going to meet Hannah.

Her train from Manchester was on time but I'd arrived with ten minutes to spare, so I had a mooch about. I keep meaning to watch 'Brief Encounter' and then come here for a look around, although the visitors' centre is pretty engaging, anyway. I took this photo when I noticed the steps down to the track. You can't get to them now because of the railings but I guess these hark back to a day when you walked across the tracks to the car park before the underpass was built. Maybe I should watch the film and check.

Having collected Hannah, we went drove into Arnside to have fish and chips for lunch. This is the fish and chip shop that Dan and I went to a couple of weeks ago but this time the café was open, so we sat inside to eat. It was lovely.

After that, we drove back to Kirkby Lonsdale, where I had a very long work call and then caught up on some email before going for a shortish run, dropping Dan at a party in Carnforth, and then taking Hannah and Abi for dinner at the Royal. Perfect!

* #apostrophetwitch

****
-14.4 kgs
0 words
Reading: still nothing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.