First gift....

......of Advent

This is the first present from my Advent Calendar (it was delightfully accompanied by an iTunes voucher) and not bad for the first day.

Every year the calendar brings back lovely childhood memories of jumping out of bed in the chilly early morning and dashing down to where it hung on the staircase. I would always stop to gaze in wonder at all the little individually wrapped gifts hanging from the little gold rings.
On the first day I would give all of the little packages a gentle squeeze and shake and try and guess what was inside.......and then I would rip open the tiny gift for that day to discover a new pen or pencil or notepad or eraser or sweetie or Lego-man or......

That calendar is now about 30 years old and I still get the same little frisson of delight.

Happy 1st of December blip-folks, keep safe and warm!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.