USS Cassin Young

I had a lovely sleep last night, and although I was still a bit choked up this morning I seem to have got to the point where by the time I've had my shower in the morning I feel pretty human. This is a big improvement.

I had quite a productive morning sorting out some notes, so after lunch I headed for downtown Boston with a friend. We then walked over the Charlestown bridge (with a little forensic engineering on the way!) to the Charlestown Naval Yard. Here we took a look around the USS Constitution (the oldest commisioned warship that is still afloat) and the USS Cassin Young. The Constitution (also known as "old ironsides") is currently undergoing a lot of renovation work and isn't in a particularly photogenic state, so I've blipped the Cassin Young instead.

She was built in 1943 and remained in service through the Korean war until around 1960, when she was berthed at Boston as a museum piece. She still has the feel of being quite a formidable piece of weaponry...

After this we met some of the others in the pub and then went for Italian food in the North End - delicious.

I've had a god day, but I'm tired and ready for my bed now. I've missed calling MrsCyclops again, and although it's only 3 weeks untill I'll see her for spring break I'm, really feeling the separation at the moment. It's been a long stint...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.