VISIT TO KASSEL

We had never been to the centre of Kassel until today.
When we had come to live in the northiest place of the german land Hesse, we had driven to the outskirts of that town to buy an oven and some other utilities for our kichtcen, and another time to Ikea in the very south of the town.
It is only 50 km from our town, but we never wanted to drive there again.
But today Piet Hein had to collect his driver's licence there and so we took the bus of 9 am to Hofegeismar and changed there to the lightrail that stops in the Central Station of Kassel.
The licence was soon enough collected, and we walked to the tourist information center for a smaller map than we had bought once.
And much more information leaflets and the like.
Then we found a place for an espresso and look, next to the italian ice cafe, we found a secondhand camera shop, and since I have so much trouble with my memorycard, we stepped inside to ask for information about a possible repair. And I asked if I could borrow a camera when mine would be send to the Nikon station.
That was possible and she went to look what would do. She had a camera, and it was soon obvious that the repair would cost a lot of money and the Nikon camera that she showed us seemed a reasonable 
solution if I would buy it. Just then and there we decided to buy that camera and off we went to discover Kassel.
Kassel's houses and industrial buildings were bombed for 60 % or more in WW 2. And it was rebuild with new modern buidlings.
It is mostly build on hills and we walked down the hill to the big park called Aue. There we ate our sandwitch and enjoyed the wonderful warm weather. Of course we went to see the river Fulda and crossed the park to the big pond, and from there we walked the Philosenweg, the road of the philosophers, that led to the University.
We entered a tram from there to the centre again, drank a tea on a terrace, and visited a church nearby.
Then a walk to the station and the same way as we had come, we travelled back.
Of course when we will visit Kassel again, we will go the Wilhelmhoehe and see the famous waterworks.
The two persons in my photo sat on the pavement and in one second I took my camera out of my bag and the next second I had taken the photo.
For the festive 200th abstract I show it in the extras. Thanking Ingeborg for the fantastic work she does in hosting the exiting challenge.

It is already rather late, and as I am tired too, I'll catch up tomorrow.
Thanking you all for the response to my donkey of yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.