SarahClem

By SC26

A Celebration

Today I drove up to the naze at Walton with some of my oldest friends, my Mum and Greg to have a celebration for my car Kip. Kip's been with me for 14 years, since I was 17 and was my first (and only) car. I can still remember going to test drive the car with my Dad, and not quite being able to believe that it was going to be mine! After years of scraping through, it has failed it's MOT and unfortunately the repairs and work are too expensive to justify.

The car's been with me through absolutely everything over the years, and been everywhere with me. I've had to pull over through tears of laughter and more recently through tears and sorrow. In the early days, the car represented freedom and independence, and it's been with us for countless adventures.

My Dad and the car are so interlinked and Dad put so much of his time and energy in to it; he knew how special Kip was to me, and would go to all lengths to keep it running. He single-handedly kept Kip on the road for all these years. One of the main things I'm having trouble with getting my head round, is that anything else I have that is so linked to my Dad, or that he put so much time and energy in to for me; I wouldn't dream of letting go. Kip has always been special, but the car and the memories are now even more precious to me.

Today we had a picnic out of Kip's boot and everyone told their favourite tales and stories about the car. I read something I'd written about our journey and we made a bucks fizz toast. It's a much loved little car, and will be missed by many.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.