A gaggle of runners

Today has been a big day for me running wise. I saw a podiatrist, bought new running shoes and went to a running club for the first time.

I have really weird feet. I'm very flat footed, have collapsed arches, wide feet and very long toes. In fact the podiatrist even remarked that you rarely see people whose third toes are longer than the big one. Thanks, that doesn't make me feel 'special' at all! Anyway as a result of all this, I've been having pain in my shock absorbing bones in my feet. Being the hypochondriac I am, I assumed I'd mangled my feet. Apparently not. But my old shoes are shot. I've probably run about 1000 miles on them and they only recommend you run 500-700 in a pair. So I bought some that should be perfect for my feet.

Tonight I went to my first session with Portobello running club. I really enjoyed it! We did parlaaf (if that's how you spell it) training. It's basically a relay between two runners doing laps, you sprint one lap and then rest while your partner sprints one. I think this club is going to be exactly what I need. I'm there to learn and get faster and I think it'll work. I'm very happy with the club. Everyone was lovely, friendly and encouraging! What more could you ask for? This is my first time running with other people. They do long runs on Sundays too - but I don't think I'll join them for that. I love the solitude of my long runs and I'm not willing to share them with anyone yet!

I'm afraid to say I have bad news about my Vibram FiveFingers trial. Apparently as barefoot running drastically alters your running style, you shouldn't try it if you're training for a race. At the moment marathon training is more important than barefoot, so it will have to wait until May

Exercise: 4.5 miles (1.5 mile warm up and 3 miles speed training
January running mileage: 34 miles

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.