Bright and Beautiful

By ThingsBeautiful

Still Life 1 A Hint of Spring

Thank you all so much for your lovely comments yesterday on my blip! A few of you got it right~it was a pencil sharpener! I like to make you work at it :)

Heavy snow today and it doesn't feel safe to go into town for my One Street shot (Friday Alley).

Instead, I thought I'd have a go at Still Life. I'd like to know what you think?

The silver ? (I'm not so sure, think it might just be tin) coffee pot was given to me by my grandparents many years ago, along with a proper coffee set (currently in a box in the loft, very outdated I think, but pretty). The glass jug comes from my stepmother's French aunt's collection, and was given to me by my step mother some time ago. Its a very pretty glass jug, and somehow this image doesn't show it off to perfection. I might go closer with it another time :) The daffodils I bought!


Yesterday, after work and church meeting, I went to Sainsbury's. The shopwas empty of shoppers (it being around 9pm), but also many shelves were completely empty. You'd think we were in for a seige, not just a snowstorm or two!

I was just doing my ordinary weekly shop but got a few extras for the freezer (as I'm filling it up again after defrosting).

We have between 3 and 4 inches of snow here at the moment. There was no snow when I woke at 5.30 (on my day off), just icing sugar patches, but by 7am it was falling thick and fast.... currently very blizzard like!

This is actually my weekend off and I'm not planning to go anywhere for the next 3 days unless the weather really improves. The Council never grit down this road, and it doesn't feel safe going out on it with all the silly idiots people who think its so clever to go fast down a winding residential icy road with cars parked on both sides. I value my life! Rant over.

Positives :

Staying in is the new going out for me just now :) PJ Day here I come!

Negatives:

Apart from the snow being a nuisance I can't think of anything!

In other news....poor Billy didn't know what to do this morning! He asked to go out but when I opened the door he went out and shot straight in again with snow all over him... He's asked to go out several times since, but never actually gone out. I hope he will realise he has a litter tray is and use it, as I really don't think he'll go out! He hasn't used the tray for a few months since being allowed out.

Later Its finally stopped snowing (and we have about 5 or 6 inches), here in Berkshire at 4.45pm! My very kind next door neighbour just knocked on the door and is clearing the drive for us (its a party/shared drive), one of the best neighbours I've ever had!

Have a great day and stay safe Blippers :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.