Trip to Newport, Rhode Island

Well this was an amazing day.

We drove over to Rhode Island - across the Jamestown Bridge

We came to visit Breakers. Susan had bought us tour tickets for the Vanderbilt Mansion and I don't think I have seen anything like it in my life. It was built as a holiday home for the family and has now been donated by the family to the Rhode Island Preservation Society - Read about it here!

We strolled along the Waterfront shopping district and had lunch in the Barking Crab - delicious - go in if you're ever passing!

Posible the highlight of my holiday came as a total surprise. Towards the end of our day, Susan drove to the Castle Hill Inn - Ocean Drive, Newport. This picture is Susan strolling towards a couple of Adirondack Chairs for us to settle into a nice relaxing cocktail. The view was astonishingly beautiful - the yachts the biggest I've ever seen and I felt I was in paradise.

What I loved most about it was the very relaxed feel it had - the waitress loved out accents and kept popping over to talk to us. I also think we were by far the poorest guests - but we were human and enjoyed talking to her!

Our drive home was unbelievable - through the worst ever thunderstorm! How Susan could see I'm not sure -but she got us home safe after what was surely one of the best ever days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.