Family Dog

By Family_Dog

We are sale-ing...

Ooft.

Is it only Thursday? We've just had, what's commonly known in the Family Dog house as a HORRENDOUUUUUUUUUUS WEEEEEEEEEEEK.

Kids: Colds, sleepless nights, constant stream of snot from noses, misery, cheek, tantrums, complete & utter refusal to eat any food other than biscuits.

Me: Throat infection, ear infection, stinking cold, PLUS all of the above and all of the below.

Bry: Agony stomach cramps, resulting in 2 seperate days in hospital, shots of morphines, scans, pain killers, waiting, worrying, sleepless nights etc. etc. etc.

And all of this in the same week that the flat finally goes on the market.

BLOODY NORA. I need a drink just thinking about it all again.

Bry's not in pain any more thank goodness - they think it's some kind of infection in the gall bladder so he's on a bit of medication and strict instructions to avoid almost every single food and drink stuff he enjoys. That's his punishment for making me worried several times in the pit of the night. Hah.

The kids are doing okay too, coughs are still around but they've come back from the brink of monsterdom to fight another day.

As for me, the throat is no longer agony. I'm on antibiotics and everything is clearing up. Bry forced me into having a nap earlier today and I slept solidly for 3 wonderful hours. Much, much, much needed.

The flat - well that's another thing entirely. We've scrubbed her up, neatened her out, put some new things in to make her look nice. The photos were taken, the surveys done, the schedules assembled and proof read by my good self. All of this, you would think, would lead me to get it into my head that we're selling the flat. Like, actually ONE DAY we will be moving. It's only taken 3 solid years of talking about it.

Even the For Sale sign going up didn't jog my brain properly into the here & now. "Well, what did?" I hear you cry. A Mrs Henderson from somewhere outside of Edinburgh, ringing me up to ask if she could view the house outside of the scheduled viewing times.

Me: Bry! Somebody wants to see the flat!
Bry: Good! That's great news.
Me: But, but what if they buy it?
Bry: That's great news too!
Me: But then, where will we gooooooooooooooooooooo?

I need to get a grip. This could be a bumpy ride.

Quick - everybody who's moved out of their beloved cities, tell me how wonderful your lives are now. Thanks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.