This Too Will Vanish...

By etherghost

The Rush lawns

This house is across the street from mine. I can see it from my front window.
It is surrounded by a large green yard almost like a pasture.
It used to have formal gardens, barns, and other work shops, even a chicken house.

A lovely old couple lived there when I was growing up, they were very interesting and I was free to go over there anytime I wanted for a visit. I would sing, dance, and tell stories for them and Mr. Rush would give me a fancy peppermint stick (the kind that melt in your mouth) from a bag beside his chair.

There weren't many children to play with in the neighborhood, so I got to tell tales with the elders instead. It was wonderful, I was like a hobo traveling from house to house to entertain.

The Rushes told me their yard was mine to play in and explore anytime I wanted
and I took them up on their offer. Exotic flowers bloomed all around me while statues and sun dials were my friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.