LornaL

By LornaL

Poem: 1938 to 1929

1938 to 1929

Dead years, you were the best of life I had
Free from all bitterness and frustrate pain
When I had scarcely leisure to be sad
I shall not know your liberty again

This may be ruin that I look on now
Shadowy half-life in a body marred
Weak, useless, savage with my own despair
Youth’s hopes to ashes mercilessly charred

This was the childish promise of great things
This was a hope, realised in emptiness
This was the future, agonising past
This is, and will be, lasting bitterness

Lorna’s poem reads like a self-penned epitaph. It was most likely composed in 1941.

This is the last contribution by Lorna to this blipfoto journal. Tomorrow we will learn a little more about the end of Lorna’s life from her brother Theo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.