Scrooge and the Cratchits

This part of Leicestershire used to be parcelled up amongst the landed gentry, some of whom are alive and well today. The children of Lord and Lady Crawshaw have decided to make Whatton House and Gardens a viable commercial return. It's been a wedding venue for as long as I've known. Just before lockdown tipis were installed in the ground in which wedding festivities could take place. Of course, they were not used as such last year. 

No matter. Since Boris announced in July that no further lockdowns would take place and all restrictions were lifted, the family unveiled other plans. Following what I gather was a very successful Halloween trail, a Winter's Trail has been offered for the Christmas season, loosely based on Dickens' Christmas Carol.

I went today. The mist was beginning to descend once more. A kind young chap at the car parking suggested I could take advantage of the disabled car park, but I'd already parked by then and was halfway to the entrance. The courtyard to the gardens was decked out with lights and food and drink stalls. I couldn't eat any of the food because none was gluten free. And although the drinks' stalls were offering alcoholic beverage, I was driving home.

We embarked on the trail, led by Scrooge. The whole thing lasted no more than half an hour. Well thought out with the garden as a setting. I hope the young actors thought it worthwhile. One stop made me slow down. We came to the lake and had to descend the steps to continue on the trail. A flat capped yokel was seated there presumably for health and safety reasons.

Earlier in the day, Basil and I had an enjoyable walk at Dishley Pool.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.