hollyyoung

By hollyyoung

SaSaLeLe Strega

My favorite gallery had a party last night.  The instillation in the photo is life size.  She is a grandmother drag queen, most fancy (as they say here in FL).  I saw her last week when I went to the artist's opening but last night I got permission to photograph her.
David D'alessandris came up with the name SaSaLeLe after a shopping trip to Newbury Street in Boston.  A clever sign maker had huge letters in a store's 4 pane window.  I bet you have guessed where this is going.  SA SA was in the top two panes.  LE LE below.  David loved the script, the size of the letters, the sound as he said it out loud to his husband.  SaSaLeLe just rolled off the tongue.  His husband had a great laugh as he explained, "It says SALE".  David's soft sculpture is made from found materials to celebrate the gap between what is intended and what is perceived. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.