Grave Stones

No run today, so I lay in bed and read my book which I just want to finish as I’m not really enjoying it.  I then headed out for an early morning walk around York.  It was relatively peaceful in that there weren’t that many people going about, but I hadn’t bargained on all the delivery vehicles at that time in the morning.  The sun was out and it was a really lovely morning to wander around the streets and passageways of central York, before a walk back along the riverside.  I was surprised to find that BB was up and breakfasted when I got back, although it took him some time to then get himself ready for the day.
 
TT’s mum had told me of a wonderful cemetery to visit – York Cemetery.   It’s not far from where she lives, so I popped out to investigate.  What an amazing place.  I only explored a tiny bit of it, but I will definitely go back and would love to go on one of their guided walks.  So many beautifully overgrown gravestones –  the perfect place to go for some peace and I noticed a few people sitting reading in the sunshine.
 
Later we had lunch at the Merchant Adventurers Hall.  It was really nice to be able to sit out in the gardens enjoying the sunshine.  They were busy and they said there would be a wait, but we were in no rush.  We then picked up a couple of things and headed back to Grandma’s apartment.  We were just getting ready to leave when TT’s brother appeared.  He delayed our departure slightly, so we had to have a brisk walk to the station.  The train back was not busy, and was even less busy after Newcastle.  It was another efficient journey, and we got into Edinburgh slightly early.  That meant we didn’t have to rush to catch our bus home.  TT appeared at the bus stop –having worked late.  It was home for tea and for the boys to watch the football.  They weren’t supporting either team.  I popped out to stretch my legs and left them to it.
 
We’ve had a lovely few days in York catching up with TT’s mum.  It was also nice to visit mid-week and to avoid the weekend crowds.  As we left, Grandma asked us when we are coming back.  We will need to make a plan.
 
A view from York Cemetery (and the extra), and  final view of York Minster against a brilliant blue sky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.