curns' corner

By curns

Illuminated

The new Northern Line extension to Battersea recently opened. Today was the first change PY and I got to ride it.  Which is why we took a train up to Waterloo for about 10:30am so we could, immediately, board a tube train south along the new extension to Battersea Power Station Station. It’s all very shiny and new and there’s plenty of space in the new station. Yen station, however, does deposit you a bit of a walk from where any of the Power Station attractions are. I believe there’s another entrance that will open at some point when some more of the development is completed.  

The developers has clearly created a few attractions around the Power Station area to entertain all the people trying out the new line. There was somebody doing a very impressive painting of a tube train and, for some reason, an Aston Martin DB5 made to look like it was in a toy box. I suppose that’s promoting the new Bond film. 

By 7pm I was on the Embankment meeting with a group of people who were taking a night photograph course. Mum and Dad bought me a voucher and I used it for this class. I am not really very good with my more professional camera: I am much more of a point and shoot person. However I did get to use my tripod for once and learn a few tips about the camera. I am not sure I will remember them all. 

We started the evening opposite the London Eye as it started to go dark. I managed to get a couple of decent pictures but I was most impressed by the camera trick which gave this effect. 

This we followed by some shops of Waterloo Bridge which was illuminated as part of a project to light up London’s bridges.  On to pictures of the development at Vauxhall and Nine Elms from Lambeth Bridge and back along the south embankment to get some shots of Westminster Bridge and, then towards the OXO Tower for some more shots before finishing with pictures of St Paul’s Cathedral taken from the Millennium Bridge. I throughly enjoyed the whole thing. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.